RSS

Moving past Claiming, and on to Becoming

18 Feb

I have been doing A LOT of talking about Claiming Carter over the past week with everyone who is close to me.  In transitioning from Claiming Carter to Becoming Carter, I really needed to look at Claiming and see how I could improve on it.  I talked to my wife, and my mother, and a few close friends about things I had done when I was writing Claiming, and how they affected the outcome of the book.  I won’t go into details, but there are a few things that I regret about how I went about writing Claiming, and I’ve remedied those errors for book 2 in the Carter Series.  After all of the talking and prepping and planning, I’m over 22,000 words into Becoming Carter, and it is already a better book than its predecessor… yep, I said it.  As I’ve stated in the past, I love how Claiming Carter ended, and I love the characters, but Becoming Carter is something else… it is the best thing I’ve ever written… and it isn’t even halfway done yet.  

The people closest to me know that I am extremely competitive.  I use everything as motivation to get better, and right now there is A LOT of motivation out there for me to use.  My job in the Air Force is always motivation, because I want to be a full time author one day in the near future.  The sales and negative reviews for Claiming Carter are also motivation, obviously.  The fact that I’m a male author in a world where there are so few is also motivation.  Also, the fact that I’m totally different than the other male indie authors is motivation as well.  I pride myself on the fact that I can show you all my face, and give you details about my life, and bring you into the writing process as I bring the Carter Series to life.  I’m not jealous of any other male author’s success, however, I am completely motivated by it.  I pride myself on being original by combining suspense with erotica, which is something that is rarely done, especially the way I write it.  I’m not doing anything like anybody else.  I don’t need to knock another author, or another author’s book in order to make my book relevant.  Originality will result in longevity. Which is why I’m so excited about the Carter Series and every single book that I will write after it.  

“Just give it time.  We’ll see who’s still around a decade from now.”  -Drake- 

And lastly, I just wanted to let you all know that I’m officially working on the cover for Becoming Carter.  I’ve emailed my cover designer, and the process has officially begun.  It’s gonna be a pain in the ass, but if it all works out, this cover is going to be amazing and will fit the story line for Becoming Carter perfectly.  Fingers crossed.  

Image

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Moving past Claiming, and on to Becoming

  1. mayasjsanders

    February 18, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    I usually do not leave comments but I am going to say that this post is wonderful. I for one am a champion of your work and pimp Claiming Carter to the fullest. I do like the fact that you stated you are feeding off the negative reviews and sales to make it “better”. Having supporters and people you can bounce ideas off of is a must in the writing business and your need of competitiveness and perfection will take you a long way. That Drake quote is very fitting. I listen to that song myself when I am doing blog work. Keep up the enthusiasm and watch how you shine. Congratulations on the road ahead and I will keep a spotlight post with your name on it…. 🙂

     
    • wsgreer

      February 18, 2014 at 1:09 pm

      Thanks so much for the support, Mayas!! You’ve always had my back!!

       
  2. Tonya

    February 18, 2014 at 5:33 pm

    I love it! One thing I love the most is the way you share and interact with your fans… this is what make a writer a great author in my book. I loved Claiming Carter…and I love what I have gotten to see of Becoming Carter! You are an amazing author (and person) with many devoted supporters out there! Keep up the great work!

     
    • wsgreer

      February 23, 2014 at 1:12 am

      Thanks, Tonya!! I truly appreciate the support!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
